Skip to content

Hug Me! I’m a Cancer Survivor!

July 20, 2012

I took this picture of Baxter in his “Hug Me! I am a Cancer Survivor!” scarf that the vet put on him after his sixth and final radiation treatment on July 2. Baxter handled the radiation well and his oncologist, Dr. Proulx, was very pleased with how everything went. We won’t have an idea of how successful the treatments were until we do follow-up x-rays about a month after his last treatment. But as far as what I can observe, he’s doing great. His appetite and behavior are normal, and I’m not seeing any bulging eyes. The only thing I do still notice is occasional mushy poops.

The staff at the vet where he received his cancer treatments all fell in love with him. He got many nice compliments about his sweet disposition from the techs, and even Dr. Proulx commented that he was exceptionally gentle and easy to work with. (It’s true, Baxter has always been an easy-going guy.)

Since I never saw the area where Baxter got his treatments, I asked one of the techs if she could take a picture of Baxter in the radiation room. Below are a couple photos she took. The picture of him strapped in for his therapy is a little disturbing, I know, but don’t worry… he’s not distressed… he was sedated and unaware of what was going on at the time. And he’s only like that for less than a minute. I’m sure he was more stressed when I was taking the photo of him in his scarf! (Which I took off of him as soon as I finished taking the picture, of course. It now hangs proudly on his Cottontail Cottage.)

I’ll post an update again after we do the x-rays. Paws crossed that the tumor will be gone, or at least greatly reduced. Hopefully we have bought Baxter some more time by doing these treatments.

Overall I’m very pleased with how Baxter is doing, both physically and emotionally. He seems to be doing OK without Scootie, but I don’t want him to be lonely, especially since he’s used to having a companion. So he has been on dates with three of my single bunnies. So far we don’t have a clear love connection, as Baxter seems to be afraid of everyone he meets. But hopefully he’ll warm up to the idea and have a new buddy soon!

 

From → Scootie's Blog

2 Comments
  1. Judith permalink

    He’s so cute in his scarf. 🙂

  2. Jeni Wittrock permalink

    Wooo hooo, BAXTER!!! I’m so proud of him–what a tough little guy. 🙂 I’ll keep my fingers crossed for his continuing good health!

Leave a Reply

