Skip to content

The “World’s Cutest Bunny” is now “Heaven’s Cutest Bunny”

June 17, 2012

It is with the heaviest of hearts that I tell you that my precious Scooter has passed away. I knew he was fading, but I really thought and hoped I had more time with him. He was doing OK the night before he passed, eating his favorite treat (shredded carrots), and enjoying our nightly snuggle time. I did notice he was dozing off a little more than usual while I fed him the carrot, but it never occurred to me it was his last night on earth. But things were very different when I got up the next morning. He was very weak, he hadn’t pooped overnight, I wasn’t able to express his bladder, and he had no interest in food.

I took him to the vet, but I knew chances were slim he’d come home alive. It was a hard choice, knowing he would likely die at the vet rather than at home, but I don’t regret my decision. I don’t think he really cared about (or even knew) where he was at that point, and I would have regretted it if I hadn’t at least tried to give him that chance, knowing how he has rallied so many times in the past. I told him I loved him and gave him many kisses before I said goodbye. I hope he knew I was there and felt my love for him in those last moments we had together.

My heart hurts beyond words. I wish I could say I feel some relief, but I feel none at all. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye, and caring for him was an honor. I didn’t think it was possible to love him any more than I did before he became disabled, but I did. I grew even closer to him those last months.

I was supposed to be on vacation in Cabo this week, but canceled my trip a few months ago when he became disabled. No way could I leave him when he required such special care, and I certainly did not want to lose a week of precious time with him. I’m so glad I canceled that trip. I’d never have forgiven myself if I had been away when he passed.

His last hours seemed to be peaceful, at least. He didn’t appear to be in pain, and I don’t think he suffered long. It comforts me that he was still enjoying food the night before. And I’m so grateful that he held on through the night so that I could say goodbye to him.

Now my focus is on Baxter, who so far seems to be doing OK. I’m worried about him going through the rest of his radiation treatments without his little buddy to come home to. But I think in this regard, Scootie’s disability was actually a blessing. I think Scootie’s inability to dote on Baxter the past few months helped Baxter to gradually get used to the idea that he was losing his buddy and helped him become more emotionally independent. It would have been more stressful for Baxter if Scootie had died suddenly.

And I think life without Scootie will be harder for me than it will be for Baxter. Just as Scootie adjusted to his disability better than I did, I think Baxter will adjust to the loss better than I will. We humans are not as resilient as these bunnies, who take what life hands them with dignity and grace.

I miss Scootie so much. I’m very fortunate to be surrounded by so many friends who care and share my grief. And I’m also surrounded by bunnies who give me comfort during such a sad time.

Scootie is a very special bunny who will never be forgotten, and will be cherished for as long as I live. I feel like I’m the luckiest person on earth for having been his mom.

From → Scootie's Blog

12 Comments
  1. Jaow Totoro permalink

    Oh so sad. I’m deeply sorry 😥 He’ll be missed
    Binky fee upoun the rainbow bridge sweet hun
    :((

  2. Cindy permalink

    I am so sorry for your loss. I know and still feel your pain and grief. Caring for and falling even deeper in love with a disabled bun is a grief and joy that you will carry with you forever. To give up your entire life to be with them as they start that final journey, be it months,weeks,or days, is a humbling experience. It makes YOU a better person. Please know that my thoughts and prayers are with you. Love and Hugs, Cindy

  3. Honor permalink

    I am so sorry to hear about Scooter!! He had a wonderful life with you and George!!

  4. Emma and Åsa in Sweden permalink

    So sorry to read about your loss… Scootie truly was a wonderful bunny and our all time favourite bunny to watch and read about online. We’ve also had a bunny who was ill, in pretty much the same way as your little man, and it sure hurts when you lose them… Hope everything goes well with Baxter, he’s in the best care with you 🙂

  5. Tamara permalink

    And you are an amazing bunny mom. All of your bunnies are so lucky to have you. I’m so relieved that you were able to love Scootie right up until it was time for him. He had a wonderful and amazing life with you, and touched so many lives. I will never forget Scootie

  6. Jeni permalink

    I’m so, so sad to hear this. :’ ( Binky free, sweet little Scootie. :’ ( He will be missed by many; like Tamara said, Scootie touched many lives. I’m glad you got to spend so much time with him while he was disabled. You did everything you could for him, and he was happy and comfy and knew he was very loved, right up until those last precious moments. My heart goes out to you and Baxter.

  7. Law and Order Bunny Business is one of my favorites. i still watch it from time to time. scootie was such a star. i only hope that Scootie is with my “Doggy” (little black lop) hopping around the bridge. …i shouldn’t have read this at work. Alison – i’m so sorry for your loss.

  8. I haven’t commented on your blog before, but I started following when one of my own bunnies became disabled. I loved reading Scootie’s updates and seeing the amazing care and quality of life you gave him. He could not have had better bunny parents and he passed peacefully knowing how much he was loved.

    I feel your deep pain right now (I’m crying at my desk in work!) and just want you to know you’ll be in my thoughts. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    Binky free Scooter xxx

  9. Carol Stearns permalink

    I just got back in town and read about Scootie. I am so sad and understand the loss of a sweet bun. You will always remember him and he will live in your heart. Know that you did everything for him that could be done but mostly loved him very much and he knew that. All your buns know! You are in my prayers and Scootie and Baxter as well.

  10. Oh I am so so sorry for your loss. Scootie was an amazing rabbit, I could see that just by following your blog the last couple of months. I found you because our precious girl Ella Luna had lost the back of her legs and your blog gave me support that I needed…to know I wasn’t the only one who loved my rabbit hugely and that we weren’t the only ones with a handicapped bunny. Our girl passed away on June 2nd…it was extremely hard and I am still having a really hard time navigating my days without my girl..she was 8.5. We were hoping to have one last summer with her. Her partner Roo is left behind and he’s grown very quiet and sad so we are spending much time with him, but I think it’ll be quite some time before any of us really feel okay or are cheered up, the loss is just devastating to our little family…I am sending you hugs….you sound so like me…I too feel so so honored to have been my Ella Bella’s mama. Do visit my blog sometime when your up to it…I think you may like it, it’s all about art and bunnies:D XO Mandy, Roo, Jinny and Jaks. XO.

  11. I understand your feelings.When I had to take our boy Tiberius for his final journey at the vets it was the ONLY time I got a real cuddle from him..He knew.I knew, I think his way of saying thanks….They are funny little critters that invade our hearts and lives.If some-one had said to me some years ago you will love and care about a bloody rabbit (LET ALONE TWO) I have so laughed, now coupla years later what is most of my day taken up with???Bloody rabbits-one normal- the other physically and metally challenged and I wouldn’t change it for anything..I find it hard to imagine with some of the problems with both yahoo and facebook disabled rabbits sites-
    when I read about the struggles of some but rabbits are definately the most lovable,strangest and frustrating animals around…p.s.Never owned a pet newt or igauna!!!

  12. I just found darling Scooter a few weeks ago and followed his/your story thru to the end. I feel in love with Scootie and like you would’ve gone to all lengths to care for him. I wanted a Holland lop like Scootie until I witnessed his illness. This has torn my heart out and I have cried buckets of tears. I know you love all your animals but losing Scootie is, I am certain, a pain all its own. I wonder whether I could survive losing a Scootie!!!!

Leave a Reply

