Skip to content

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

May 26, 2012
BFF: Baxter & Scooter 5/22/12

I have good news and bad news, neither of which is actually regarding Scootie.

I’ll start with an update on Scootie, though, since this is HIS blog after all! I haven’t posted anything in awhile since there’s not really been anything to report. He’s very stable… still eating great, his poops are still dry (usually), and he’s still perky. The “ugly” truth is that I’ve seen no improvement in him, but at least he’s not any worse, so I’m grateful for that.

The “bad” news is that I just found out that my sweet Baxter (Scootie’s buddy) has cancer. Last week I noticed that Baxter’s eyes were bulging slightly, so I took him to the vet to have it checked out. X-rays showed he had a mass in his chest. A biopsy was done, and it was confirmed to be Thymoma. This is serious because these tumors are in the chest cavity and continue to grow and cause major problems, like pushing against his trachea so that he can’t breathe. Surgery is not an option in Baxter’s case because the ascending aorta is going through the middle of the tumor. Dr. Loudis recommended instead that we do radiation treatments. He referred me to a veterinary oncologist at CVS in Carlsabd, Dr. Proulx, who I met with on Wednesday, and liked very much. Baxter will get a CT scan on Tuesday so that they can map out the tumor in his chest in order to target the radiation accurately. I don’t really know what Baxter’s prognosis is. Most of the stories of Thymoma in rabbits I’ve read and heard about haven’t been very encouraging. But Baxter is strong and healthy for his age (8.5), so I’m going forward with the radiation and will try to be optimistic. It’s so strange to think that Scooter could actually outlive Baxter. I’ve always assumed that Baxter, who is younger and has always been healthier than Scooter, would be around for years after Scooter was gone.

Now for the “good” news. Oliver has completely recovered from his surgery and is doing great! At all his recent rechecks, there has been no sign of abscesses, and he has healed nicely. He is totally back to his normal, happy, flopping self. Here’s a video I took of him a few days ago grooming his chest and face. It’s funny because he has a little poop stuck to his cheek, and despite all that face-washing, he never manages to get it off!

From → Scootie's Blog

5 Comments
  1. Carol Stearns permalink

    Goodness, what a time your guys have had and you too. I am so sorry about Baxter. My husband found a bump on our cat’s head yesterday so we will go to the vet on Tuesday and see what it is.
    Take good care! Carol

  2. Jeni permalink

    Aw, jeez. I’m so sorry to hear the news about Baxter… When it rains, it pours, huh? I’ll be thinking of your sweet guys and wishing them all the best.

  3. So amazing of you to get radiation treatments for your 8.5 year old bunny…never give up, that’s our motto as well. Hugs to you both. XO Mandy and the bunnies from Northern Canada:D

Leave a Reply

