Skip to content

Results of the Culture

March 20, 2012

Yesterday we got the Culture & Sensitivity results back on the abscess. It showed Pseudomonas Aeruginosa, which is a very common bacteria found everywhere. How he got it in an abscess his spine, we don’t know. Dr. Loudis said that with Scooter being an older, compromised bunny, he’s probably more susceptible to it.

The only antibiotic that is effective against this bacteria is Amikacin, so we started him on that today. It can damage the kidneys, so we are giving it along with daily sub-q fluids. It shouldn’t be used on animals with compromised kidneys, but we did a blood test last week, and, fortunately, his kidney numbers were good.

The bad news is that the antibiotic won’t work if the bacteria is in his central nervous system, which it seems it might be. The only way to know for sure is to do an MRI, but the cost of that is prohibitive, and it’s not like we have any other options, so we decided it was best to give the Amikacin a try and hope for the best.

I need to start expressing his bladder a few times a day. When I pick him up, he often pees, so I think his bladder is usually full. I know he is capable of peeing on his own (I’ve seen him do it), but I think it’s probably uncomfortable because it gets all over himself and then I have to bathe him, so he holds it in. As much as I don’t love the idea of expressing his bladder, I think it will help him stay drier and more comfortable.

Dr. Loudis and I talked a bit about his quality of life, and we agreed that he is not in pain or suffering. His appetite and attitude are good and he still loves to snuggle with me and his buddy, Baxter.

Thank you, everyone, for your comments and feedback on Scooter’s scooter. I haven’t had a chance to try the cart with him again yet. I want to make an adjustment to that bar that goes over his back before I try it again. I’ll keep you posted!

From → Scootie's Blog

5 Comments
  1. Cindy permalink

    Wishing you only the best of luck. Willie never used the cart so I don’t have any advice there other then he took off in it just like Scooter. It seems like they are afraid of it and are running from it. Maybe put him in it and pet and give treats? Leave it out for him to sniff?
    With Scooter have weakness in his legs maybe he doesn’t feel that his bladder is full and it starts to dribble? He also may not be emptying his bladder completely when he goes in the litterbox.
    Sorry I am not much help.
    Cindy

  2. Michelle permalink

    Depending where that nasty abscess is in the spine, it could relate to bladder function. I’ll see if I can find out that info & let you know. Glad Dr Loudis is on it. He is great.

  3. Eileen Lee permalink

    Hi Allison

    Jerry and I have been following what is going on with little Scooter. We are so sorry this is happening. Hang in there and keep doing what you are doing. It’s hard to see our babies get sick. As long as he’s happy, eating and still snuggly keep up the fight. We’ve been there as you know with little Jasmine. Take care and let us know if we can offer any suggestions.

    Eileen & Jerry Lee

  4. Patricia permalink

    Poor Scootie! Try putting him on a towel that’s covered with fleece. He’ll pee but won’t sit on it. It goes right through the fleece to be absorbed by the towel.

  5. Bernadette Kovac permalink

    My bunny with EC did not like his cart either and it has progressed to his front legs but for the most part he is happy and healthy. Give him more fruit and pellets to help him with weight and I will be folowing Scooter because he is a amazing bunny!
    Bernadette

Leave a Reply

